Diabetes Life Hacks – #DBlogWeek – May 16, 2014


Thanks to Karen Graffeo of http://www.bittersweetdiabetes.com/ for organizing the DOC to blog en mass.

Yesterday’s (was a freaky Friday) prompt: Share the (non-medical) tips and tricks that help you in the day-to-day management of diabetes.  Tell us everything from clothing modifications, serving size/carb counting tricks to the tried and true Dexcom-in-a-glass trick or the “secret” to turning on a Medtronic pump’s backlight when not on the home-screen (scroll to the bottom of this post). Please remember to give non-medical advice only!

So many good d-hacks out there on so many spectacular blogs. I’m going to be reading for a while. But before I get too much past the end of the post date, I’ll throw a couple of my own in.

  • When moisture gets into a Medtronic pump and you get the blasted “Button Error” message, signalling the pump is kaput, try the “bag of rice” trick. I’ve resurrected my pump a couple of times by taking out the reservoir and battery and putting it in a bag of rice in a zip lock bag or Tupperware for a couple of days (or once a couple of weeks).
  • A “Button Error” was also eliminated once by parking my pump under the direct blast of an air conditioner for a couple of days – dry air dried it out.
  • The Enlite sensors come with a really good adhesive tape, which doesn’t come off when you sweat. My Medtronic infusion set sticky bit, is not so great at staying stuck when I exercise. So, I figured out the hole in the middle of the Enlite sensor tape is big enough to go over the insulin infusion site tape and connector knob. All stays stuck. And the sensors come with lots of extra adhesives.
  • Not really a hack, but I really think my Frio Insulin Cooling Bag is fantastic. I cart around a spare bottle of insulin “just in case”, I live in a hot place and I travel to even hotter places. Through the wonders of evaporation, the Frio keeps my ‘slin cool(ish). At least it doesn’t bake and it doesn’t require me to find a fridge or freezer. (Just remember you can’t put it in a “water proof” bag or container, as the water in it can’t evaporate, then. I feel a science lesson coming on.)

photo 1photo 2photo 3

 

2 thoughts on “Diabetes Life Hacks – #DBlogWeek – May 16, 2014

  1. Believe it or not, I have never received a button error on my Medtronic. If/when it happens, I will now know what to do to fix it. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

