Mantras and More – #DBlogWeek – May 15, 2014

Prompt: Yesterday we opened up about how diabetes can bring us down. Today let’s share what gets us through a hard day.  Or more specifically, a hard diabetes day.  Is there something positive you tell yourself?  Are there mantras that you fall back on to get you through?  Is there something specific you do when your mood needs a boost?  Maybe we’ve done that and we can help others do it too? Thanks to Karen Graffeo http://www.bittersweetdiabetes.com for organizing all of us!

What to do when you’re feeling blue?
What to try when your sugar is high?
Where do you go when your sugar is low?
And what can I say when its all in one day?

(What, it’s not poetry Thursday and I can’t impersonate Dr. Seuss?)

As a science/mathy type, I wish all variables that affect my blood sugar could be distilled into a few (thousand) algorithims, and somehow used to make my pump and CGM a whole lot “smarter”, so I don’t have to try to compute them, let alone identify them. So, what’s a girl to do when the blood sugar regulation demons win the upper hand? And what about when I knowingly make certain decisions which end up with predictable negative consequences?

I’ve (tried to) follow the old mantra – Worry about the things you can control and not about those that you can’t. I would add on that when you make a decision about the things you can control, figure out the pros and cons, and then just do it, embrace your decision and make the most of it. And don’t second guess yourself.

Infusion set gets blocked due to blood and sugar spikes – can’t control that so just change the set and move forward – no need to invest any emotions.

Blood sugar spikes after enjoying an extra dessert at at buffet lunch – OK, I can control that situation in a couple of ways. Next time, don’t eat the extra dessert, or go and enjoy the dessert, but make time and find a place for an added bolus or just enjoy the dessert but don’t make time for extra insulin and know that my sugar will go up (probably dramatically). So, now I need to decide what my priorities are.

Making conscious decisions about the things I can control, lessons the feelings of guilt and helplessness afterwards. If you predict the result, even if it is “bad”, you’ve predicted it and you control it. The “result” doesn’t control you. Letting go of things I can’t control, is just frankly freeing. “Oh, the only thing they are serving at this buffet is chocolate covered marshmallows?” I can’t control that. I can make a decision to forgo or enjoy it, and predict the consequences but see it just as neutral information. Results are “just information”, passing no judgement. The judgement that comes from well-meaning people who want to, well, er, pass judgement is so not helpful. Ignore it.

And when a day is particularly stressful, there is always a solid standby strategy. Beer, the darker the better. (However, I must confess that Asahi is, in fact, my favorite lager.)

photo(1)

 

 

2 thoughts on “Mantras and More – #DBlogWeek – May 15, 2014

  1. Although our personalities differ (I am definitely not a “science/mathy type), we still wish for the same thing: less uncertainty. The uncertainties of living with diabetes are difficult; your advice makes it less so.

    In particular, I agree with you on the importance of decisiveness. Your point doesn’t get emphasized enough, especially in the “failure”-fearing US. Making the best decision based upon what information we have available to us is all tht we can do.

Leave a Reply

